The Dakar Grand Carnival is held the last week of November . It is one of the only carnivals (along with New York and Notting Hill) to take place outside of the period usually devoted to carnivals and coincides with the start of Senegal's peak tourist season. It is a popular and festive event, showing the whole world that the Senegalese in their diversity share the Teranga spirit.
The Grand Carnaval de Dakar is the first living traditional festival in Senegal. Every year, an appointment is given to Senegalese and their friends from all continents, to discover the faces of Senegal and celebrate the cultural richness of our African lands.

As a result, more than a simple event, the Grand Carnival of Dakar is a platform for expressing the diversity of traditional and modern cultural heritage, Senegalese and Africa. It is also a space for the promotion of local cultures, as educational tools, foundations of social cohesion and economic growth .

Traditional costumes, dances and regional music or rituals: the peoples parading proudly, all together .
Many activities and surprises await spectators: tastings of traditional dishes, crafts, workshops, percussion battles, costumed parade in music, concert ...

The Dakar Grand Carnival is a festive, popular, family event . It is therefore open to any public, national or international, wishing to have access to culture at a lower cost or free of charge.

The event takes place over three days , during which any cultural, artisanal, traditional or contemporary actor has the opportunity to express themselves in front of a national and international audience.

This unifying approach makes it possible to tackle in parallel, through conferences, scientific aspects structuring the questions of anchoring and progress intimately linked to development.

Sharing, openness, transmission and friendliness are the hallmarks of the Grand Carnival of Dakar.

 

It is accompanied by an environmental citizen approach, thanks to an alliance with actors involved in the communities.

Come live with us 3 intense days of sharing and emotion !

3 days in Dakar

under the sign
of authenticity

Le Grand Carnaval de Dakar, se tient la dernière semaine du mois de novembre. Il est l'un des seuls carnavals (avec New York et Notting Hill) à se dérouler en dehors de la période habituellement consacrée aux carnavals et coïncide avec le début de la haute saison touristique du Sénégal. C'est un évènement populaire et festif, montrant au monde entier que les Sénégalais dans leur diversité partagent l'esprit Téranga.
Le Grand Carnaval de Dakar, est la première fête traditionnelle vivante du Sénégal. Tous les ans, rendez-vous est donné aux Sénégalais et à leurs  amis de tous les continents,  pour découvrir les visages du Sénégal et célébrer la richesse culturelle de nos terroirs d'Afrique.

De ce fait, plus qu'un simple évènement, le Grand Carnaval de Dakar est une plateforme d'expression de la diversité du patrimoine culturel traditionnel et moderne, Sénégalais et Africain. C’est aussi  est un espace de promotion des cultures locales, comme outils pédagogiques, socles de la cohésion sociale.

Costumes traditionnels, danses et musiques régionales ou rites : les peuples paradent fièrement, tous ensemble.
De nombreuses activités et surprises attendent les spectateurs : dégustations de plats traditionnels, artisanat, ateliers, battle de percussions, défilé costumé en musique, concert... 

Le Grand Carnaval de Dakar est un évènement festif, populaire, familial. Il est donc ouvert à tout public, national ou international souhaitant avoir un accès  à la culture à moindre coût ou gratuitement.

L'évènement se déroule sur trois jours, durant lesquelles tout acteur culturel, artisanal, traditionnel ou contemporain a la possibilité de s'exprimer devant un public national et international.

Cette démarche fédératrice permet d'aborder en parallèle, à travers des conférences, des aspects scientifiques structurants les questions d'ancrage et de progrès intiment liés au développement.

Le partage, l'ouverture, la transmission et la convivialité, sont les maîtres mots du Grand Carnaval de Dakar. 

 

Il est accompagné d'une démarche citoyenne environnementale, grâce à une alliance avec des acteurs impliqués dans les communautés. 

Venez vivre avec nous 3 jours intenses de partage et d’émotion !

3 jours à Dakar

sous le signe

des terroirs

Sous le Haut patronnage de Monsieur Macky Sall Président de la République du Sénégal

PARTENAIRES
MEDIAS